I’m doing food sketches

Monthly sketching challenges made up of prompts of specific topics/subjects are a wonderful and enjoyable way to build and sustain a daily sketching practice. They certainly helped me since I began my art adventure in January 2014.

The challenges force me to stretch beyond my comfort level and push past the sabotaging chatter from my inner critic. Not only am I seeing improvement,  I feel comfortable and confident each day when I face a subject I’ve never sketched before. The tips I pick up from fellow sketchers across the globe from their online courses, their blog, Instagram and Facebook posts, and YouTube videos  continue to inform and inspire me every day.

Impressed by food sketches I’ve been seeing online, I was excited when World Watercolor Group on Instagram and  Facebook Group threw out their November challenge with 30 prompts comprising various foods: potato, pasta, poultry, desserts, fruits, vegatables, pastries, sandwiches and popular beverages.

I’ve been filling my Stillman and Birn Alpha sketchbook with sketches whether eating out, taking photos to sketch at home, free online photos, as well as items I bring or cook at home. It’s been a learning experience for sure but oh so much fun, especially when I do my own variation on the simple prompt.

Below you will see the 12 sketches I’ve done so far for the November Challenge.

wwg-nov-1
Croissants
wwg-nov-2
Stuffed Egg
wwg-nov-3
Sandwich
wwg-nov-4
Sugar Candy
wwg-nov-5
Doughnut
wwg-nov-6
Potato
wwg-nov-7
Chocolate bars
wwg-nov-8
Cappuchino
wwg-nov-9
Carrots – Grilled Carrots
wwg-nov-10
Cupcake – Chocolate cupcake with coffee-flavoured cream filling
wwg-nov-11
Ice cream sundae
wwg-nov-12
Bell pepper – Baked bell pepper stuffed with minced beef and an assortment of veggies

In fact, I am so enjoying this challenge that I am several sketches ahead. Yes me, who gets bored close to the middle of month-long challenges.

Leave a Reply

