This little ArtGraf tin

51vTCNN6gUL._SL1000_I’ve been eyeing this tin of Viarco ArtGraf water-soluble graphite ever since I saw Teoh’s YouTube review. It is perfect for my Pocket Art Toolkit, which lives in my bag and goes with me everywhere. I slipped a Faber-Castell water-soluble HB pencil  in there – next to the Pentel Aquash waterbrush – for dark washes, tonal effects and quick shadows, when I don’t have time to use my Winsor and Newton watercolours and specifically my much-loved Payne’s Gray.

13335593_10153434207071504_7391894041488039348_n
Faber-Castell HB water-soluble graphite pencil on the left next to the Pentel Aquash Waterbrush

 

With the ArtGraf water-soluble graphite tin no sharpener is required. Just pick up some graphite with my brush, mix it with some water in the cover – if I want to tone it down – and I’m good to go. I’m going to buy another one to keep in the bag I use for Sketch Meets.

13335859_10153431208176504_227137222595317711_n
Faber-Castell HB water-soluble graphite pencil on the left next to the Pentel Aquash Waterbrush

This little 20gm tin of water-soluble graphite is a joy to use. I can get a wide range of gray tones with it. So cool.

Just to let you know, Viarco Art Graf also has a box of 6 earth-toned watersoluble graphite cakes.

61EOuOdUf4L._SY355_

You can also buy the discs/cakes individually. The colours are delicious – sanguine, ochre, sepia, brown, dark brown, and black carbon, which is the colour in the tin shown above.

Leave a Reply

