Art supplies – my sketchbooks

Because I’m in a sharing mood, I’m posting photos of my sketchbooks below and inserted links under the last photo.

Filled sketchbooks 2014-2015 (10):

Sketchbooks used 2014-2015 10-03-2016

The two on top I made myself with pages from a Strathmore 300 Series 140lb cold press watercolour pad. A couple of these sketchbooks were designed for dry media but because I love watercolour, I used watercolour pencils and paint in them. Of course the paper buckled but I like to see the buckled pages from the side.

one of my sketchbooks
A 2015 sketch of one of my sketchbooks

 

 

Sketchbooks currently in use (5):

sketchbooksin use 10-03-2016

On the left: two different sizes of Moleskine Art Plus Watercolour Album 140lb. 3.5″ x 5.5″ (140lb) which I always keep in my small art-on-the-go kit in my bag, and 5.5″ x 8.5″ (140lb) for my daily sketching sessions, challenges, and monthly Sketch Meets.

On the right: U.S. Art Supply sketchbook  (60 lb paper) for pencil doodling, Strathmore 4.5″ x 6″ (140 lb) for testing colours and new watercolour supplies, and subject studies, and Darice Studio 71  5.5″ x 8.5″ sketchbook for random watercolour sketches and practicing pencil drawings.

Sketchbooks in waiting (8):

Sketchbooks in waiting 10-03-2016

Back left to right: Darice Studio 71 5.5′ x 8.5″ 90lb paper, Strathmore 5.5″ x 8″ Visual Watercolour  Journal 140lb paper, Stillman & Birn Beta Series 5.5″ x 8.5″ sketchbook 180lb paper, Stillman & Birn Zeta Series 5.5 x 8.5″ sketchbook 180lb paper

Front left to right:  Pentalic 3.5″ x 5.5″ 140lb watercolour sketchbook, Pentalic 4″ x 6″ Accordion 140lb watercolour sketchbook, Pentalic 4″ x 7″ 140lb watercolour sketchbook, and Moleskine Art Plus Watercolour Album 3.5″ x 5.5″ 140lb paper.

For now, I am partial to sketchbooks in 3″ x 5″ and 5″ x 8″ sizes (just to round them off). I plan to introduce 7″ x 10″ sizes in the near future for home use, Sketch Meets, and planned plein air sessions. Of course, I’ll keep using the smaller sizes – at home and always one in my bag when I am out and about running errands, shopping, and other life outings – you know, just in case I happen upon something to sketch. Softcover sketchbooks are nice and all (lighter) but I prefer hardcover and thread bound to spiral.  Additionally, although, I am not averse to adding watercolour to my sketches on paper meant for dry media, I will no longer buy dry media sketchbooks. My money is going towards mixed media (with a textured surface) and more particularly, watercolour sketchbooks  (140lb and up in hot and cold press finishes) all the way.

PHEW! Took me all morning to write this post. Time to get to my daily art session.

Leave a Reply

