Art supplies – Conte a Paris Sketching Crayons

No trip to the mall is complete without a visit to my favourite art supply store Perspectives Art and Craft Supplies. Of course the real treat is finding something (something I’ve never seen before or something that’s on my wish list) to experiment with in my sketchbook.

These Conte a Paris Sketching Crayons was a pleasant surprise:

61r7jR4tXvL._SX425_

1. because they are so compact and saturated, they are going to last a long time

2. because they are a bit water-soluble. Adding water after they are applied to sketch, the colour flows and creates an interesting texture. I love me some water-soluble materials (paint, pencils, crayons, sticks, etc. etc. etc.)

12744017_10153209969431504_4320855415625514035_n
My first rough test of the Conte a Paris Sketching Crayons in 5′ x 8″ Strathmore watercolour journal

 

 

A few days ago, I decided to post sketches instead of photos of my Sentimental Treasures in my Sentimental Treasures series and shared a sketch of my miniature brass teapot  from my collection. Gosh I love the texture and the watercolour background with Winsor and Newton Ultramarine Blue, makes the teapot POP.

 

12814094_10153233538701504_8349889731835178207_n
My first rough test of the Conte a Paris Sketching Crayons in 5′ x 8″ Strathmore watercolour journal

 

Leave a Reply

