Incorporating my passions

Lamenting I’d abandoned posting about my Sentimental Treasures, I thought that instead of taking photos and writing the story behind the treasure, I could incorporate my sentimental treasures posts into my art adventure by sketching the items and sharing them along with their stories.

Naturally, I got all excited, as I did when I began sketching from photos in one of my favourite interior decorating book, in order to combine my love of interior design with my new found passion for sketching.

Immediately, I made a list of the  sentimental treasures I’d like to share. The first one on the list? My sewing box.

Do you remember Gold Bond? I only appreciated my mother’s obsession with collecting Gold Bond stamps when I got married in 1979, and became an avid collector myself. I no longer have many of the items I redeemed my stamps for, and as far as I can tell, only the sewing box remains.

As might be expected, after 30 years, it is no longer in mint condition and for this reason, I use it mainly for storing extra sewing accessories and items I don’t use on a regular basis. I have a smaller sewing basket for quick grab and mend/sew projects.

However, because I love it as much as when I first saw it in the catalogue, I sketched it as my eyes and heart still see it – no  dried up pieces of masking tape covering the damaged portions. Of course I’ve been meaning to do some better repairs but, well, you know ….

12800110_10153224401711504_965042315593085815_n
Viewed from the back. Staedtler watercolour pencils and Pentel Aquash waterbrush in a pad of Strathmore postcards.

2 thoughts on “Incorporating my passions

  1. What a lovely idea to paint your treasures! It’s so meaningful and this way you are honoring and preserving the memories you have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

