Sentimental Treasure – Memory of The Spaghetti Song

The memory is as clear as day:

Late 60’s, sitting around the dining table with my brother and parents, over plates filled with steaming spaghetti topped with cheese, and meatballs in tomato sauce, and we burst out singing On Top of Spaghetti. We called it The Spaghetti Song and our version varied slightly from the original. We would sing the last line slowly, raising our voices and holding the last note on sneeze (not sneezes) to rhyme with cheese.

Spaghetti topped with cheese and meatballs in tomato sauce. Courtesy www.crumblecookie.com
Spaghetti topped with cheese and meatballs in tomato sauce. Courtesy http://www.crumblecookie.com

On Top of Spaghetti (The Spaghetti Song)

On top of spaghetti,

All covered with cheese,

I lost my poor meatball,

When somebody sneezed.

It rolled off the table,

And on to the floor,

And then my poor meatball,

Rolled out of the door.

It rolled in the garden,

And under a bush,

And then my poor meatball,

Was nothing but mush.

The mush was as tasty

As tasty could be,

And then my poor meatball,

It grew into a tree.

The tree was all covered,

All covered with moss,

And grew lovely meatballs,

And tomato sauce.

So if you eat spaghetti,

All covered with cheese,

Hold on to your meatball,

When somebody sneeze.

I’m thinking I should introduce this tradition to my grandchildren. I’m sure they’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

