Art before breakfast & before lunch

As you may know, I am on an art adventure – tapping into my inner artist, and experimenting with the plethora of art supplies I’ve bought over the last year or so.

I was enthralled with the idea of “urban sketching” after I read Everyday Matters by Danny Gregory (a gift from my son). Danny’s blog post “How I make art before I make coffee”, inspired me to do a sketch before breakfast.

Actually, I’m more of an “art before lunch” kind of gal, but I was able to manage this small sketch before breakfast today. I didn’t have the time to fine-tune or add colour but I thoroughly enjoyed the few minutes.

Sketch before breakfast - April 2015
Sketch before breakfast – April 2015

Surprisingly, I discovered that this short, quick burst of creativity – before the onslaught of the day’s busyness – generates gratitude and instills mindfulness, which is so vital for daily life. Even if it doesn’t become a daily practice, I think I can manage to make a little art before breakfast a couple times per week. Cool huh?

And here’s a photo of my sketch before lunch – art while cooking.

Sketch before lunch - April 2015
Sketch before lunch – April 2015

And now, I challenge myself to do something creative, not necessarily before breakfast, before lunch or before bed, but every day, or at least a couple days a week.

Leave a Reply

