Embroidery – Beginnings

I don’t know about you, but I rarely jump into something at the deep end. I may not talk much about it, but I research it to death. I read copious amounts of print and online material. I watch YouTube videos. I take notes in my everyday notebook or a designated journal. I subscribe to relevant newsletters and join Facebook groups. I spend time on Amazon, searching for book, tools, and supplies and put them in my cart. After a couple of weeks or months, I edit my Amazon cart – assigning the not-absolutely-necessary items to the Save For Later section, and ordering those that are necessary to begin. That’s how it was when I wanted to take up art and photography, and begin crocheting again after I abandoned it for about twenty years.

Art is my favourite. I don’t draw every day, except when I go on a 2-week art binge. It’s as if the spring bubbles up and overflows – taking me on a sweet creative ride. Then the wave settles down and I set it aside for a while. I crocheted every day for a couple of months and only stopped to make time for Christmas. While I continue with these three activities, I’ve added embroidery to the mix.

Embroidery had been on my want-to-do list for years. My mother introduced me to knitting and embroidery when I was about 8 or 9 years old. I found the knitting a bit difficult. I loved embroidery but, well, you know how it goes – life. Since I retired in 2006, my mission has been to revive hobbies I once loved and embark on creative adventures I had long dreamed of pursuing. Late last year, I finally began my obsessive research. Would you believe that I’ve had a 6 inch hoop for over twenty-five years? After I purchased needles and thread, I went searching in my “miscellaneous basket” for fabric, only to discover that I had thread and needles, which most likely, I had purchased a few years back, when I thought I’d give it ago but didn’t.

Inside my embroidery box: a small metal box with finger protectors, punch needle, ripper, scissors, marker, and plastic bobbins. two round sponges (to use as pin cushions for now), wooden ring, and that Avon box holds my needles.
Inside my embroidery box: a small metal box with finger protectors, punch needle, ripper, scissors, marker, and plastic bobbins. two round sponges (to use as pin cushions for now), wooden ring, thread on bobbins, and that Avon box holds my needles.

An old shoe box is my tool/supply box until I find more suitable storage (maybe a lined basket with a cover). I have several embroidery e-books in my Kindle app, a dozen or so designs in a folder on Dropbox and a print book with even more designs on the way. I found this bit of fabric in my stash and I’ll use it to practice on until I buy more fabric in a week or so.

P1030687Here’s a stitch tutorial I found on Amazon. It’s a handy-dandy accordion booklet that’s laden (front and back) with basic to complex stitches. It’s laminated, so good. I love the design on the front cover – so pretty.

P1030688And this is my first freehand attempt, just to get a feel for it. It’s rough I know, but I excited and determined to learn and practice and create beautiful pieces.

Leave a Reply

