The word for 2015 is DISCIPLINE

I embarked on several adventures in 2014: photography, art, crochet, sewing. It was fun.

Photography, although a long-held interest, was the only new adventure for me. With two digital cameras my husband gave me, how could I not explore and enjoy the adventure photography could offer me? Art, crochet and sewing I’ve dabbled in in the past, all enjoyable but the interest waned. Revisiting them was so much fun.

Like many New Year resolutions or goals, I began in earnest with enthusiasm that lasted a good 8/9 months. Only art had a relatively consistent place but it too petered out to an occasional exercise (say once or twice a month for about 2 hours for the most).

Nevertheless, while these adventures held an important place in my heart, I failed to give them the priority necessary to integrate them fully into my life. That is why, I’ve chosen DISCIPLINE as my word for this year.

The plan is to cultivate discipline in my adventures. The “when I feel like it” approach in 2014 was good enough for a start, and while I enjoyed the time learning and playing in the fields I chose, it led to a bit of laziness coming to the end of the year. So, this year, if I approach them with discipline – e.g. set days and times – I believe I can learn more and progress faster and further. I’m not ruling out spontaneity. Those times are crucial in life as well as in creative pursuits. Spontaneity brings freshness and excitement, they inspire out-of-the-box thinking and expression. Spontaneity coupled with discipline (schedule) yields better results: wider creative expression, deeper satisfaction, and more confidence.

Continuing with the 2014 theme of adventure, I’m adding embroidery to the mix. Yes embroidery. My mother introduced me to it when I was 7 years old and over the years, I always thought that I’d pick it up again one day. I have everything I need to get started and with discipline, I expect to slip right back into his enjoyable and relaxing hobby. I may even consider embellishing items for sale, along with custom pieces for personal use or gifts.

So there it is, my thoughts and plans for 2015. Of course I am continuing on the path of being present, mindful and grateful everyday and in everything I do.

I’d love to hear what you are thinking and dreaming and planning?

Leave a Reply

