Bonnie Friedman – Writing Past Dark

Bonnie Friedman wrote a beautiful, beautiful book Writing Past Dark, (Envy, Fear, Distraction and Other Dilemmas in the Writer’s Life). When my friend, Janice Lynne Lundy asked me if I knew about it, (and I didn’t), I found it online and knew from what was on the front cover that it was my kind of book.

Her “Why I Wrote This Book” serves as an introduction. She said,

“Successful writers are not the ones who write the best sentences. They are the ones who keep writing. They are the ones who discover what is most important and strangest and most pleasurable in themselves, and keep believing in the value of their work, despite the difficulties.”
Bonnie Friedman knows that writers know that writing is difficult and scary. She knows that we are our own worse critics as we tend to listen to and magnify what others (inner critics and naysayers) say. She knows that with a little inspiration and the gentle reminder that we are not alone, we will be inspired to brave our fears, ignore or silence the dang sabotaging voices in our head. She knows that in spite of our self-doubt, our hearts whisper and shout and prod us to write what we know we must. 
She wrote a book to help us, because she couldn’t find a book to help her. Isn’t that what other writers have said, “Write the book, you want to read”. Write the book you wish someone had written to help you in your quest to live, love and write better.

What book would you write?

4 thoughts on “Bonnie Friedman – Writing Past Dark

  1. Cheryl, this is a wonderful book. I read it a while back and need to revisit it. The quote you pulled says it all, and it's something I try to share with my writing students. Today, especially, it's easy to throw in the towel, as there are so many more people who are writing, making the “competition” seem tougher than ever. But those who persevere see success.

    I hope all is well in your world. I need to get back on FB one day soon, but I've found myself more productive without the “lure” of getting caught up in social media. But I miss your updates!

    Like

  2. Hi Cindy,

    The book definitely calls for a second read or even more. As for me, I'm all excited – my second grandchild will be heading off to kindergarten in January. I'll still be getting them ready for school. Their dad will be dropping them off and I will be picking them up just after 2pm. Six hours Cindy – six glorious hours to do as I please with no interruptions. I see a glorious time for me in the New Year.

    Like

  3. Cheryl thank you for sharing. It has always been my dream to author a series of introspective books, with a flair of life coaching. I have several drafts but sat on them. They are incomplete, shells that do not contain my testimony and the experience that lead me to write books that I would have wanted and needed to read as I aspired to change how I lived my life. I am ready to complete what I've started. Stay tuned my friend and editor.

    Like

  4. Hi Kaylus,

    In a nutshell, it's never too late to what year heart calls you to do and as long as God gives life, I'm here to help you along.

    Sending you love from my bed where I'm trying to get over a nasty flu.

    Like

Leave a Reply

