Let’s get to writing our truths/our stories

Are you brave enough to write your truth/your story despite what others may think, how they may feel or react?

I’m not. That’s why my memoir is only moving along ever so slowly. I am sometimes afraid, sometimes ashamed and sometimes resentful of my own truth/my own story. A small part of me doesn’t want to write it but the larger part knows that I must, some day.

Are you secure enough to face your inner truth – you know, those hidden parts, those cloudy parts, those parts that make you cringe – and write it any way? 

Sometimes I’m sure that I am secure enough and then there are those days when I have to admit that I’m not. Yet, I believe that those are the most important parts because it is within the layers of those parts, you and I will uncover and understand ourselves better. It is within the layers of those shady parts that the very act of writing will shed light on our truth. It may explain our fears and doubts. It may change or at least improve our perception of our truths, our stories and our selves. And when that happens a whole new world of freedoms and possibilities will open up to us. Don’t you think?

So let’s get writing – one sentence, one paragraph, one chapter at a time. Let’s make sure that we write our truths/our stories and free ourselves of those hidden parts that bind us, so that we can live the lives we should, the lives we’ve only dreamed of so far.  Admit it, your heart aches to write your story.

“Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns.”

~Samuel Taylor Coleridge, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Here’s to writing your truth/your story and mine.

Leave a Reply

