Sentimental Treasures: Agatha Christie – An Autobiography

In November 2006, I stood before a table of old books. The sign above read, “Free Books”. I took a quick scan of the beauties (Books are beauties aren’t they?) and my eyes fell on Agatha Christie – An Autobiography.  

Her books were instrumental in developing and deepening my love for murder mysteries – an obsession that plagues and delights me still. So I knew I had found a treasure. I’ve read this book three times and on each occasion,  I learned something new. I intend to read it again because surely there must be more gems of information and inspiration waiting to be discovered.  


Front view


Back view


Today,  in my copy of the What’s New In Freelance Writing newsletter, I followed the link to The Writing Style of Agatha Christie.  I lapped up this short piece and plan to print it and attach it to the inside front cover of my cherished book.  

Like many other voracious readers and passionate writers I am intrigued by modern technology. I have countless digital books on my E-Reader and PC Tablet but I don’t read them as readily as I read the dozens of print books I buy every year. 

A confession: Sometimes I buy both the digital and print versions of a book. 

Whole Latte Life by my friend Joanne DeMaio is one example. And I have no doubt I will do the same with her second book – Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans, which is due to be published next month – March 11th to be exact.  

Print books will never lose their tactile and sentimental appeal – not to me. My copy of Agatha Christie – An Autobigraphy is a treasure of deep sentimental value. Oh yes, and I also love the tattered book jacket. 

2 thoughts on “Sentimental Treasures: Agatha Christie – An Autobiography

  1. Cheryl, I was so happy to see this in a Google Alert. I always appreciate your kind support. I was wondering, too, if you feel a story “reads” differently on an electronic device as compared to a paperback book …

    And thanks again for thinking of my work 🙂

    ~Joanne

    Like

  2. Joanne, Let me put it this way:

    There is a special relationship with a print book. It is almost like touching the characters. It is almost like snuggling up close to the writer. With a digital copy there is a sort of distance. Not that the story or characters don't grab me, just that the reading experience is different. At least that is my experience. Then again, I am definitely biased because I so enjoy and love holding and reading and taking notes in a print book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

