A novel reading plan – One book at a time

Chatting with a friend on Facebook recently, I shared with her my wacky reading practice.
 
I can’t remember when it started, my wacky practice of reading several books simultaneously. Regardless how many books I am reading, as soon as a new book arrives, I dive in. The next thing I know, I’m all swallowed up and living somewhere in or close to the middle of the book. 
 
That’s when I almost have to force myself to take a break, take a breath and take my thoughts to my journal. I write about what I’ve read and how it has affected me. I also transcribe any new words I found into my Book of Words. It is a small notebook where I write new words I discover and note the meaning and synonyms. After this break, I revert to allowing my mood to dictate which book I’ll reach for for my daily bedtime reading or my Sunday afternoon relax/read/write ritual. 
 

A couple weeks ago, I realized that I was reading five books simultaneously. It didn’t seem like the best way to enjoy the best each book had to offer. So I hatched a novel plan – read one book at time. I finished two books in a few days and feeling accomplished, I thought I’d stick with the read-one-book-at-a-time plan for a while.

It may not be the fastest way to get through the 3 on my bedside table, the 12 or so in my TO READ Book Bag and the 7 I just ordered. However, it will ensure that stories and information are not left hanging in mid-air or mid-read. Shucks! I mustn’t forget the digital books in my Kindle App. Yes, I read those too.



TO READ Book Bag
Bedside table
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
My love for print books hasn’t waned in the storm of digital books being published. I enjoy the quick and easy purchasing power with the click, click on the desktop and the zoozuut zoozuut (vibration) on my PC Tablet. Still, to see print books, touch them and inhale the ink on paper is a pleasure I’ll not grow tired of or give up. They still rock in my world.
 

One thought on “A novel reading plan – One book at a time

  1. I can relate to this! I have a mile-high stack of books on the floor next to my bed, and another stack on the nightstand … ditto my office. I get excited and purchased too many books at once, and then nearly forget about some, or start three at the same time. I am thinking this is a symptom of our multi-tasking culture, don't you? We hop online and read several articles in one sitting, surfing from one site to the next.

    Speaking for myself, I really have to work hard to recover my ability to fully focus and savor one thing at a time. Amazing how something so simple seems revolutionary!

    P.S. Love the new look of your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

