Blogathon 2012 – May 8

Thoroughly enjoyed James Victore’s Op-Ed: Confidence vs Shyness. He stirred such painful memories of my own experiences with “be like us” friends and co-workers and that is why the following stuck with me.

“Trust yourself, lean into the fear, and resist the “be like us” mentality from a society that wants you to fit in.”

It took a long time before I got it but when I did, I learned to be comfortable and confident with who I was/who I am. The darn shyness still rears its ugly head every now and then but I lean into the fear of being ridiculed or ostracized. I draw on my confidence and remain true to myself, my convictions and my dreams.

Leave a Reply

