Blogathon 2012 – May 3

Jessica P. Morrell’s essays speak to me. Within each one, I can always find a line or two or entire paragraphs that call me quietly into a corner and whispers its connection to my own life experiences and my writing.

Her latest piece, Going Home was no different. Many parts pulled up a memory from my past, particularly my childhood. But the following touched me deeply and gently and lingered with me all day.

“…as we write from memory, more memories arrive, and with memory comes associations and inspirations and more stories. And we find patterns, sometimes that have gone unnoticed for years, threading through events and truths and discoveries.”

Over the years, I’ve blogged about childhood memories that bubbled to the surface and exposed patterns that had been hidden. On deeper reflection, I discovered how they had been intertwined, albeit invisibly, in my life experiences and the paths I traveled in pursuit of my dream. I also discovered how many of them practically dictated certain events and sparked discoveries that fueled and continue to fuel my writing.


From Wikipedia: RE: Thomas Wolfe’s book, You Can’t Go Home Again, which was published posthumously in 1940. 

“The phrase “you can’t go home again” has entered American speech to mean that once you have left your country town or provincial backwater city for a sophisticated metropolis you can’t return to the narrow confines of your previous way of life and, more generally, attempts to relive youthful memories will always fail. It has suggested that the phrase is sometimes spoken to mean that you can’t return to your place of origin without being deemed a failure.”

But I’ve found that the opposite is true. We can go home again. Many things may be  disturbingly or pleasantly different, new, better, nostalgic. The thing to remember, I suppose, is that when we choose to “go home” we must do so with our minds and hearts open to what “home” may want to say to  us and stir in our hearts.

I thank Jessica for sharing her thoughts on and experience of going home.

Leave a Reply

