Be true to the purpose of your writing

Tayari Jones

In a blog post on 18th March, 2005, Tayari Jones, author of Silver Sparrow, said,

“I write to make a record of all that I know and all that I have seen. A mentor of mine said to me: ‘The world is going crazy. Write all you can, so when someone comes to survey the wreckage of our society, they can look at our books and see what the hell happened.’
And that’s all I am trying to do.”

Writers must be true to what they believe to be the purpose of their writing – whatever that purpose may be. That’s what I am trying to do – be true to the purpose of my writing. Are you?

6 thoughts on “Be true to the purpose of your writing

  1. Nice quote, Cheryl. In my manuscripts, I like to take a situation that I know and I see, then explore the what-ifs it might hold. It's an interesting way to explore life itself.

    Like

  2. Good morning Joanne,

    Our knowledge and experiences spurn new perspectives when we write about them.

    The reality of life (our own. other people's or life in general) inspires our writing whether we write fiction or non-fiction. And our writing enriches not only the lives of readers but our own as well.

    Like

  3. Great quote, and I love that “reason for writing” too. I like to think that my writing is a reflection of “ordinary life” in the Midwest — with a few moments of magic and insight thrown in. It keeps me going to know that my readers want that. I know a lot of people are writing more “exciting” things, but I like writing from the heart for the reasons cited in the quote today.

    Like

  4. Hi Cindy,

    I know nothing about the Midwest except your “reflection of “ordinary life” … — with a few moments of magic and insight thrown in”, and I revel in your writing because it is your reason for writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

