Morning Me-Time



My new Me Time ritual:

Stay in bed with my Netbook and my reading basket, check and reply to email, read and comment on my favorite blogs, stroll through Facebook and Twitter, clip interesting articles to Evernote, to read later, write a blog post, read a few pages from one or more of my reading-in-progress and work on writing and editing projects.

I started doing this last week, when I was down with the flu. I like the way it puts a whole new spin on my day. When I get out of bed, I don’t rush around doing chores. I remain in a relaxed frame of mind for the rest of the day. The chores that used to drive me crazy until I did them, well, they get done, when they get done.

This won’t last forever. I return to babysitting granny duties in September, so this darling ritual will shift to Saturday mornings. Meanwhile, I’m milking it for all it’s worth and savoring every divine moment.

2 thoughts on “Morning Me-Time

  1. What I like about this is that your craft comes first, each day. What an inspiring way to start the morning, giving your words the priority they deserve and not causing anxiety by putting them after the chores. Enjoy 🙂

    Like

  2. Joanne,

    I am so obsessive about everything being clean and in its place that I run myself ragged getting everything just right before I sit with my writing. I have this skewed philosophy that if I get everything out of the way then I will have undisturbed time to write.

    It is skewed because that doesn't really happen. There's always something and besides, the further I go into the day without this precious time, my creativity and productivity weakens. Then I come to the page/computer/writing mentally, physically and creativity tired.

    This morning me-time ritual is teaching me that I can let the obsession go and the chores will wait patiently. I can let it go and embrace time for what is important – uninterrupted time with the virgin thoughts and inspiration that fuel my passion.

    Although my schedule will change come September, I am already thinking of how I can maintain this morning me-time and be ready to give Gabriel the attention he deserves when Michelle drops him at 6.30am.

    If I have to get up about 4am for an hour of this time I'll have to go to bed earlier than I usually do. That's be difficult because I have to do the majority of my writing and editing at night when I have Gabriel during the day.

    The good thing though, is that, so far he is an angel of a baby. Feed him, burp him, change him, sing stupid songs for him and put in his crib. He'll lie there until he falls asleep. I can have me-time then, but would write then but it's not the same as

    Like

Leave a Reply

