First thoughts on Sage Cohen’s The Productive Writer

Yesterday I received my copy of The Productive Writer
by Sage Cohen. I’ve already read it through to the end before going back to the beginning to work through it with the workbook, worksheets and samples.

In the first paragraph of Chapter 3, Sage says, 


“Being productive is not just about what you do, it is also about what you think and believe. In fact, our attitudes and the stories we tell ourselves might be the key to maximizing productivity in our writing lives.” 


I’m looking forward to working through this book.

4 thoughts on “First thoughts on Sage Cohen’s The Productive Writer

  1. This looks like a very useful read, Cheryl. Speaking of being productive, I've been wanting to write a commentary/essay for our local newspaper. My daughter asked me today why I hadn't gotten started on it yet. The thing is, I had. In my mind. For me, I like to have an idea of where the work will go and what I really want to say first, and work it out in my thoughts while I'm doing other things. My daughter just couldn't “see” my productivity. There are so many ways of being productive, and this quoted passage brought that to light.

    Like

  2. Joanne,

    I see what you're saying.

    Sometimes I say I am an over-thinker but know deep down it is not completely true. Sage Cohen's words resonated with the deep truth that I mull over ideas to figure them out and put them in context.

    Sure I can always beef up my productivity but Sage Cohen's words gave me permission to own this part of my process as a productive one.

    Like

  3. Sounds like a great book. I am adding it to my wish list, for myself as well as for students in my future classes. And I second everything Joanne said in her comment! I get some of my best ideas in the shower.

    Like

  4. Hi there Cindy,

    So nice of you to stop by and leave a comment.

    It's a wonderful book – practical and encouraging. I have no doubt your students will enjoy reading it and implementing Sage's advice.

    The shower for you and under the covers in the wee hours of the morning for me.

    Love to you and have a great week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

