I’m thankful

Often, while dreams are playing out, other things (sometimes, connected, sometimes not) slip in and make the dream bigger and better.  


My weekly column, Wright Words of Wisdom is five months into its fifth year. Imagine that!  It appears in the Womanwise Magazine, a special publication in the Sunday edition of the Trinidad Guardian  Newspaper.
Writing for The Guardian, as it is popularly called, is a childhood dream come true. Writing a column for the Womanwise Magazine is more than I imagined even two months before I faxed my query. Yet here I am. 
I’ve learned that often, while dreams are playing out, other things (sometimes, connected, sometimes not) slip in and make the dream bigger and better.  
Just today my husband asked, “How do you do it – write an article every week? That must be so difficult.” 
It is and it isn’t. Doing what I love takes work and work is hard, whether it is writing pieces for the column or other assignments, usually with short deadlines. The discipline of showing up, sitting for hours (usually at night, after my granddaughter goes home and I am pooped), the mining of disparage thoughts for what works best, the writing, the interruptions, the writing, the tiredness, the writing, the editing to fit the word count and meeting or beating the deadline. 
PHEEEEWW!
But doing what I love is filled with so many positives (freedom, bliss, satisfaction, inspiration…) that it is easy. 
There is always something to learn about the craft – to make it better, more effective, more meaningful and more relevant to readers)
There is always something to learn about living – to make it richer, simpler, more satisfying, more wholesome and more mindful of the simple everyday wonders of, well, life.  After all, it is life (yours, mine and everything else) that inspires my writing. 
I am thankful for the opportunity to do what I love, what makes my heart sing and dance. I am thanking for the opportunity to write for a great print and online publication. I am thankful for the opportunity to reach out to readers and offer them a little light, a little hope and a little encouragement on their hectic and wary and worrisome journeys. I don’t think they know how much they inspire me with their emails. Their positive feedback, their stories, their topic ideas and some of them, their cherished friendship make it all extra special, extra joyful, extra satisfying.
Thank you.


 

One thought on “I’m thankful

  1. What a beautiful place you are at with your column. Your passion for it shines through in your words, and I'm sure your readers feel that too. When asked how do you do it, I'd be willing to bet that you wouldn't have it any other way.

    I think one of the best parts of writing is as you say, it's a way to learn about living. Even writing my blog posts has a way of making my life richer as I find the meaning, and the parallels, in the everyday images I come across.

    Congratulations Cheryl, on your accomplishments … Raising my coffee cup in a toast to much joy of writing in 2011 … Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

